FG Releases Fresh 23 Names of Treasury Looters & Amount Allegedly Embezzled

Lai Muhammad FG releases lists of treasury looters

The federal government has released 23 other names of alleged treasury looters. It is said that the list is not arbitrary, but is based on verifiable facts.

The Nigerian government published more names of alleged looters of the treasury during the reign of Goodluck Jonathan. The Minister of Information, Lai Mohammed, released another 23 names on Sunday.

However, Lai Mohammed slammed the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) for daring the Federal Government over something they know they did. That is the looting of the nation’s treasury.

”What was the PDP expecting when it challenged the FG to name the looters of the public treasury under the party’s watch? Did the PDP actually believe that the massive looting under its watch was a joke? Did they think it is April Fool?” Lai Muhammad said.

The minister said that the PDP’s response to the list of treasury looters showed that his recent apology is an act to rob Nigerians again. He said PDP apologize in order to deceive Nigerian to vote for the party in the general election in 2019, despite the facts that they can’t deny their looting spree during their regime.

”The hysterical and panicky reaction from the PDP has shown that the party is not at all sincere about its choreographed apology. Were it not the case, the party would have followed in the footsteps of one of its leaders, Senator Ibrahim Mantu, who simply owned up to his role in the party’s rigging in the past elections and said he had turned a new leaf.

”It is said that a true confession is done in humility with an attitude of repentance. It is clear that the PDP does not know this, hence its resort to hubris instead of humility and genuine penitence,” he said.

Prior to this time, the minister of Information had released the first batch of treasury looters. The lists of treasury looters released generated reactions from many of those named, including the current Chairman of PDP UcheSecondu, Mr Olisa Metuh and others. See list the below;

  1. PDP Chairman Uche Secondus.

Allegation: On the 19th of Feb 2015, he took N200 million only from the office of the NSA.

  1. Former PDP Financial Secretary.

Allegation: On the 24th of Oct 2014, he took N600 million only from the office of former NSA.

  1. Former National Publicity Secretary Olisah Metuh.

On trial for allegedly collecting N1.4bn from the office of former NSA.

  1. Dr Raymond Dokpesi, Chairman of DAAR Communications.

On trial for allegedly taking N2.1 billion from the office of the former NSA.

  1. Former SSA to President Goodluck Jonathan, Dudafa Waripamo-Owei

On trial, over N830 million allegedly kept in accounts of four different companies.

  1. Former President Goodluck Jonathan’s Cousin Robert Azibaola

On Thursday, a Federal High Court ruled that he has a case to answer for allegedly collecting $40 million from the office of former NSA.

According to Channels TV, the second batch list of the 23 alleged treasury looters and the amount allegedly embezzled are;

  1. Former NSA Sambo Dasuki: Based on EFCC investigations and findings alone (this is beside the ongoing $2.1 billion military equipment scandal), a total of N126 billion, over $1.5 billion and 5.5 million British Pounds was embezzled through his office. A good number of these monies were simply shared to persons and companies without any formal contract awards.

READ ALSO: What the Buhari’s Administration Has Borrowed For? A Pro-Buhari Explains

  1. Former Petroleum Resources Minister Diezani Alison-Madueke: In just one of the cases the EFCC is investigating involving her, about N23 billion is alleged to have been embezzled. She is also involved in the Strategic Alliance Contracts of the NNPC, where the firms of Jide Omokore and Kola Aluko got oil blocks but never paid government taxes and royalty. About $3 billion was involved.
  2. Rtd. Lt.-Gen. Kenneth Minimah: N13.9 billion. N4.8 billion recovered by EFCC in cash and property
  3. Lt.-Gen. Azubuike Ihejirika: N4.5 billion. N29m recovered by the EFCC so far.
  4. Alex Barde, former Chief of Defence Staff: N8 billion, and EFCC recovered almost N4 billion in cash and property already.
  5. Inde Dikko: former CG Customs: N40 billion, and N1.1 billion in cash recovered in cash and choice properties.
  6. Air Marshal Adesola Amosun: N21.4 billion. N2.8 billion recovered in cash. 28 properties and 3 vehicles also recovered.
  7. Senator Bala Abdulkadir, former FCT Minister: N5 billion. Interim forfeiture order on some property secured.
  8. Senator Stella Oduah: N9.8 billion. Interim forfeiture order on some property secured.
  9. Former Niger State Governor Babangida Aliyu: N1.6 billion – from NSA.
  10. Senator Jonah Jang, former Plateau State Governor: N12.5 billion.

READ ALSO: Death and a Nation: A Bloodied Path to 2019 By Pelumi Olajengbesi

  1. Bashir Yuguda, former Minister of State for Finance: N1.5 billion. $829,800 recovered.
  2. Senator Peter Nwaboshi: N1.5 billion
  3. Aliyu Usman: Former NSA Dasuki’s aide: N512 million
  4. Ahmad Idris: Former NSA Dasuki’s PA: N1.5 billion
  5. Rasheed Ladoja: Former Oyo Governor: N500 million
  6. Tom Ikimi: N300 million
  7. Femi Fani-Kayode: N866 million
  8. Hassan Tukur, former PPS to President Goodluck: $1.7 million
  9. Nenadi Usman: N1.5 billion
  10. Benedicta Iroha: N1.7 billion
  11. Aliyu Usman Jawaz: Close ally of former NSA Dasuki: N882 million
  12. Jonah Jang, former Plateau State Governor: N12.5 billion
  13. Godknows Igali: Over N7 billion

SEE ALSO: Role of the Youths in under-Developing Nigeria; The Way Forward