Government & Politics

Technocrat Ministerial List? Facts and Figures about the 43 Nominees

Technocrat Ministerial List?

A technocrat is an expert in science, engineering, etc who has a lot of power in politics and /or industry. So, the technocracy is a system of government where the decision maker is selected on the basis of their expertise and power in their areas of responsibility particularly scientific knowledge.

Facts and Figures about the 43 Nominees | By Chidi Odinkalu

So, 56 days after Inauguration day for his 2nd Term, President Muhammad buhari finally sent his Ministerial List to the Senate yesterday, which has with alacrity begun the ministerial screening today. The List can be mined for all kinds of data but some of its demographics are quite interesting

The combined age of the 43 on the Ministerial List is 2,552 years. In a country with a median age of 19 and life expectancy hovering around 51. The average age of the List is 59.35 years. At 73, Kano’s Sabo Nanono is the oldest nominee. He’s one of 5 Ministerial Nominees aged 70 or more.

In addition to Nanono, Dr. Osagie Ehanire (Edo, 72); Gen. Bashir Magashi (Kano, 70); Alh. Mohammed Abdullahi, former SSG of Nassarawa State (70); and Sen. Tayo Alasoadura (Ondo, 70) are the other septuagenarians on the list.

At 45, Sadiya Umar Farouk, currently Commissioner on the National Refugee Commission, is the youngest on the List. She is one of only 5 persons under 50 on the list, and one of only 2 females under-50. The other under-50 female is Ramatu Tijani (Kogi, 49).

In addition to Sadiya Umar Farouk & Ramatu Tijani, the other forty-somethings on the List are: Uche Ogah, politician and former banker (Abia, 49); Festus keyamo, SAN (Delta, 49); Dr. Isa Pantami, current DG of NITDA Nigeria (Gombe, 46).

READ ALSO: How To Maintain Control in Partnership Business

Technocrat Ministerial List? Facts and Figures about the 43 Nominees

In all, there are 7 women on the list, 1 more than 4years ago when there were 7 fewer Ministerial Nominees. That is 2 fewer than the number of lawyers on the List (9), 3 of whom (Fashola, Malami and Keyamo) are Senior Advocates of Nigeria (SAN).

In addition to 9 lawyers, the list also includes at least 10 former Governors (Akpabio, Ngige, Sylva, Akume, Adebayo, Onu, Magashi, Aregbesola, Fashola, Amaechi), of whom 1, Gen. Bashir Magashi, was Military Governor of Sokoto State, 1990-92); and 2 former Deputy-Govs, Tallen & Aliyu

The List also includes at least 5 former Senators (Ngige, Akpabio, Alasoadura, Saraki and Sirika); 5 Engineers; 3 Medical Doctors (Ehanire, Ngige, Mamora); 1 Chartered Accountant and a former Group General Manager of NNPC group (Agba)

From the last Cabinet, at least 13 survived – Dr. Ngige, Rotimi Amaechi, Raji Fashola, Geoffrey Onyeama, Zainab Ahmed, Malami, Adamu Adamu, Lai Mohammed, Ogbonnaya Onu, Dr. Ehanire, Hadi Sirika, Suleiman Adamu & Musa Bello.

READ ALSO: 10 Easy Ways To Master Public Speaking and Hold Your Audience Spellbound

Of the 7 women nominated on the Ministerial List, only Sharon Ikeazor, (Anambra) is from the South. The remainders are from the North – Pauline Tallen (Plateau); Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna); Sadiya Farouk Umar (Zamfara); Ambassador Mariam Katagum (Bauchi); & Ramatu Tijani (Kogi).

women ministerial list of Buhari

7 States with 2 Ministerial Nominees as complied by StatiSence

1- Anambra – SOUTH EAST

  •  Dr Chris Ngige
  • Haron Ikeazu

2- Bauchi – NORTH EAST

  • Adamu Adamu
  • Amb. Mariam Kategum


  • Osagie Ehanire
  • Clement Agba

4- Kaduna – NORTH WEST

  • Zainab Ahmed
  • Mohammed Mahmoud

5- Kano – NORTH WEST

  • Sabo Nanono
  • Major Bashir Sallhi Magashi


  • Lai Mohammed
  • Gbemisola Saraki

7- Lagos – SOUTH WEST

  • Babatunde Raji Fashola
  • Adeleke Mamora

READ ALSO: Touring Maiduguri & Making Impacts: Story of a Courageous Corps Member

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button